I Went to Trans Amusement Park : 18 Years Later

Trans Amusement Park is in Ibadan, somewhere around Bodija/UI/Preboyes/Akintoba etc. The first time I went was in primary 5. My school had taken us on excursion there. It was a fun filled experience. I remember sleeping that night and dreaming about the ferris wheel I had ridden earlier in the day. It was lit! 🔥This year, my sisters came visiting for a public holiday. We went to buy some stuff in Bodija and as we returned home, saw the Amusement Park so we branched to ask if it was still a going concern. Yes, it was! So we decided to pay a visit the next day. I looked forward to another fun time, just like it was about 18 years earlier. Looooool. Let’s go there!


We had to get tickets for entry. The tickets had 200 naira printed on it but they sold for 300 naira. We got in and had to buy extra tickets for each ride. Also 300 naira. Next thing was to look round the pack to decide what ride to take. It was a public holiday so the park was bubbling with patrons male and female, young and hold. Adults took alcohol and smoked freely while children ate ice cream and popcorn. I was surprised at that! No regulation, no demarcation, just enter and have fun as you please. 😯 We opted for popcorn.

Observably, there was little or no provision for sitting around the park. In fact, I saw a group of people take a sit at one of the black tables where I sat while my sisters went to check out the train ride. And some sales person came to chase them. So it appeared that they were an outdoor food and drink outfit who had supplied the chairs and tables and only those buying from them could sit. No one chased me though, but I also did not try to eat and drink at their table save for a gum. 😂 This giant sled was not really in operation too. I’m guessing because one had to pay 300 to use it, same amount paid for the automotive rides. Make it make sense please!

I went to join my sisters at the train ride place and a ride was ongoing, a man had come with his family, a great company of about 8 to 12 people. It looked drab so we decided against it. We could see how manually and mechanically the ride operator worked to keep the train moving. In 2022, could be better.

It began to rain at some point, so we took cover under a large shed alongside several others. I remember this shed used to be the gokart arena or was it car race arena when I came in primary 5. I also remember that ride was 100 naira while others went for 50 naira. But now the shed was empty, had stack of chairs. Probably now an event shed. Sad. Oh, young boys brought sisha and we’re smoking. And there were children, practically babies under the same shed. Minimal or no supervision at all from park staff.

Maintaining beauté 🤗

My sisters took the big swing! They had a ride of their life! We’re dizzy for a few moments after returning to earth😂.

Eventually, this was my only option.

Nice ridePost ride shenanigans. It rained again and we again took cover under the shed. By the time rain two was done, park had closed. In fact, the staff left us in and locked up, looooool. We didn’t realise until we got to the entrance which was now locked. Took looking out for another person’s direction to figure out the exit, which was neither marked nor shown to us. This park is in a sorry state at the moment. But I’m glad we made the most of it. Here’s a video if you please–come with me to trans amusement park.

Leave a comment